top of page

The Ebb & Flow of LUNGS

I got on the plane in Los Angeles to come out here, and wanted to jot down some stream of conciousness thoughts to help focus my ideas about the play. And figured it'd be a good idea to share them here. So these are my "early AM I got 3 hours of sleep cuz I've been packing and waxing philosophic" thoughts. Hope you enjoy.

This play is about life, from first breath to last. The chaos and beauty as our lives flow from breath to breath. How we find each other, lose each other, and find each other again, how we pass by each other a moment too soon or a moment too late, how we crash into bliss and collide into confusion. It is the journey we are on that we do not see because we are busy being it, living it. Everyday. I have read few plays that touch me the way this one has; that scares me and excites me. Every text has a rhythm and rhyme, an underlying current that drives the flow of the piece. The thing I love most about the language of this play is that it flows so much like our everyday conversation; thoughts are incomplete and shift halfway through, ideas overlap, and a thought that was just passed over quickly three pages ago is suddenly a jolt to our systems because the scar from a moment hasn't healed, and we, the listener, need to check it again.

And I know this may sound a bit cliche, but I love love. Its perfect imperfectness, because that is the struggle and beauty of life. Exploring that is the reason I do what I do. And this play is an outstanding opportunity to makes us examine the beautiful chaos of our lives. Damn if I don't sound like that kid from American Beauty right now.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page